Does coriander actually add anything?

foodonastump

Ground coriander, that it. Taste? Aroma?

Every time something calls for coriander, I pull out the seeds and my coffee grinder. Freshly ground, to try to eek something out of them. Half empty jars replaced by new, in further hopes of them actually adding something to the dish.

I’ve been going through this ritual for a while now, but have yet to convince myself that they add value. Part of me wonders if it’s due to my post-covid dampened senses, but it seems to me I’ve been pondering this for more than a few years.

What do you think? Worth it because someone might notice and appreciate, or clear out a square inch or so of my spice drawer?

SaveComment8Like
Comments (8)
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
lisaam

I have come to love coriander for the citrus notes. I began using it in a recipe for spiced roasted cauliflower that also includes fennel, cumin, and turmeric and now I add it frequently to other things. I do enjoy grinding spices with a mortar and pestle.

Save     Thanked by foodonastump
carolb_w_fl_coastal_9b

It certainly has an aroma to me - rather orange-y. I use often and like it. I do not like cilantro, and use coriander as a sub in dishes that call for cilantro.

1 Like Save    
plllog

Me too on the like coriander, not so much cilantro. I confess, I don't use it enough to bother toasting and grinding it. The jar of seeds sits forlorn. The pre-powdered is sufficiently pungent for my purposes. Unlike cilantro, coriander is a mild flavor, so maybe it's getting drowned out in your dishes? It sounds like you're following recipes. American recipes are notoriously parsimonious with spices. If you can't taste it, add more!

1 Like Save     Thanked by foodonastump
foodonastump

I can’t taste it straight out of the grinder. It’s sawdust to me. But your post makes we wonder if I’m missing the boat by not toasting it first. That could be huge. Will try that.

(Send me all your cilantro, I love it!)