Weird Adrenalin Rushes

Robbie_WY

I'm brand new to this wonderful forum, and wondering if anyone can address this problem -- or rather symptoms.

Am in menopause and last period was about 15 mos. ago. Have decided to do this "cold turkey," so I'm not on HRT. For about the last 6 months, I will often awaken in the middle of the night with an "adrenalin rush" kind of feeling -- sort of like the feeling one might get standing at the top of the Empire State Building and looking over the edge. These are not anxiety attacks -- I had those many years ago with mitral valve prolapse and no longer have the anxiety attacks. This is different, and they only happen at night.

Am wondering if these adrenalin rushes are a result of menopause? I've done some research, but haven't found any answers.

Thank you !!

Robbie

SaveComment194Like2
Comments (194)
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
catherinet

Hi Robbie,
I'm not sure if this is what you're having, but when I was going through perimenopause, I would have similar feelings at night. I would wake up, and feel sort of a pressure in my chest, that would then rush outward through my body. It would feel like all of a sudden, my blood vessels would open up and blood would surge through them.
It finally went away after a few rough years. I'm wondering if maybe you're not completely through with menopause yet?
If you have other symptoms, be sure to see your doctor. I'd hate for you to assume it was nothing. Are you sort of asleep when these happen? Is it possible it's part of a dream?

Save    
Robbie_WY

Catherine, thank you! You have described it to a "tee." Though it certainly could be associated with a dream, I'm thinking it's more likely menopause-related, since it happens on such a regular basis. The feeling does start in the chest and rushes through the body, just as you explained your own symptoms.